History and Development of Edward Lodge

One of Brisbane’s oldest suburbs, New Farm was called Binkin-ba by local aborigines. It is reported that a farm was first established there in about 1827 by one Mr Patrick Logan.

Other details of New Farm history include the fact that there were lime kilns along the river banks in which convicts laboured. During the Second World War there was a marine base in the area. New Farm was also a popular location for many wealthy lawyers and merchants to live. The heritage house called Merthyr was constructed in 1870 for a local politician and judge of the day-Samuel Griffith

Between 1885 and 1897 New Farm's public transport was horse-drawn trams operating along Brunswick Street, these were replaced with electric trams and over time the line was extended. Trams ultimately running all the way to the river at New Farm Park. Electric trams ceased operation in April 1969.

In the late 1980s new Farm was seen as a low-rent area. Since then, New Farm has experienced a high level 'gentrification' throughout the nineties and in the years since. Most residents agree that the Italian community and its long presence in this inner city suburb have added to the cosmopolitan ‘flavour’ of New Farm with its many delis, restaurants and cafes.

Edward Lodge was completed in 1912, a substantial, double story brick property it is very different from the many examples of classic weatherboard Queenslander seen in the New Farm area. The bricks used in the construction of Edward Lodge were manufactured in England and transported on ships to Australia as ‘Ballast Bricks’.

Detailed records of the early years of Edward Lodge are hard to find. What is known is that the building was constructed as a commercial property, not a family home. There are reports which suggest it was first opened as accommodation for disadvantaged children with a commercial laundry adjacent, perhaps as a source of income. . There are advertisements in the local newspaper for laundry staff published in November 1912. But by June of the following year the Lodge was called Badu and occupied by Mr and Mrs Minshull and their family. There are reports in the paper of enjoyable weddings, parties and presentations being held at Badu in Sydney Street and sadly, in May 1917 there is a report of the passing of Mr Minshull Snr.

It is clear that this early 20th century property has always provided a safe home for various people over a long time and today, it stays true to that purpose. Edward Lodge maintains its original integrity and solid construction values well into the twenty first century.

Since 2006 under the current ownership, the Lodge has been continuously restored and improved. The first refurbishment featured a gentle Thai theme with restful rooms and lush, Asian - style Gardens.

The most recent work however, could not be more different. Today’s focus is on representing the house in context with its age. The owners are working with Brisbane interior designer Harriet Redmond so the Lodge is slowly returned to its heritage best.

Harriet comments “Brisbane’s subtropical relaxed and interesting vibe was the inspiration behind the crisp, clean, fresh tones of Edward Lodge. The overall green theme has been drawn from the nearby iconic New Farm Park and the historic tree lined streets surrounding the Lodge. Interior spaces are mellow with a small touch of whimsy. Comfort and subtle elegance were key elements in the design brief. Lovely airy spaces for guests to sit and connect to the outside world were paramount”.

Edward Lodge it is a unique property, a hidden gem in New Farm. This Brisbane boutique Hotel has loyal followers who fall in love with its charm and come back time and time again.

That said, every day new people find us from every corner of Australia and overseas destinations too and many fall under the continuing spell of the charming Edward Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming our new and returning guests to our wonderful property when next they visit Brisbane.